Customizing Outlook Today With Microsoft Outlook 2003

Thursday, July 28, 2011

To begin with, display the advanced toolbar by choosing view, toolbars and then advanced. Next click the outlook today button located on the advanced toolbar. The outlook today page will then appear. Within the today page click on customize outlook today to begin customizing it. Within this you can customize the calendar, tasks and messages sections of today. You can also change the style of the today page.

Now make sure that you check when starting, go directly to outlook today. It will specify that you want today to be the start-up page. Next go into tasks and select today's tasks. It will specify that only those tasks you have to perform today should appear in the tasks list.

From the show today in this style list, select standard (one column). Now click on save changes to save the changes and close the customize page. Your changes take effect immediately, and the calendar, tasks and messages headings appear in a single column.

Now choose file and then exit, it will close outlook. Next you will be restarting outlook to verify that the change from the inbox page to the today page is reflected in the start-up folder.

Next start outlook up again and notice that the today page is now the start-up page. You can activate shortcuts if you wish by clicking the shortcuts icon in the navigation pane. Finally, choose properties to open the properties dialog box for your mailbox. The mailbox stores all the mail-related folders, such as inbox, outbox and drafts.

Article Source: http://goo.gl/4iEey

Error message when you try to start Outlook 2003: "MAPI32.DLL is corrupt or the wrong version"

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Error "MAPI32.DLL is corrupt or the wrong version" while start up :
Cannot start Microsoft Office Outlook. MAPI32.DLL is corrupt or the wrong version. This could have been caused by installing other messaging software. Please reinstall Outlook.

CAUSE
This issue may occur if you install and then uninstall Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 Beta 2 on a computer that has Outlook 2003 installed. When you uninstall Outlook 2007 Beta 2 version, the Outlook 2007 Beta 2 version of the MSMapi32.dll file is not removed from the following folder on your computer:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\Msmapi\LocaleID


Note Different Locale ID for different languages appears in LocaleID. For example, 1033 is for English - the United States. For more information about these techniques, visit the following MSDN Web site:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/0h88fahh.aspx

RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, follow these steps:
1. Start Windows Explorer.
2. Locate and then open the following folder on your computer:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\Msmapi\1033
3. Right-click the MSMapi32.dll file, and then click Rename.

Note The file (Msmapi32.dll) that you are renaming differs from the file (Mapi32.dll) that is mentioned in the error message.
4. Type Msmapi32.old, and then press ENTER to rename the file.
5. Start Outlook 2003.


Note When you start Outlook 2003, the program will repair itself.

APPLIES TO
• Microsoft Office Outlook 2007
• Microsoft Office Outlook 2003

Microsoft Outlook Pst Repair Tool

Thursday, September 25, 2008

Are you interested in mail recovery process? Many users ask this question, now it is possible with Recovery Toolbox for Outlook and repair pst. Microsoft Outlook is not a simple messaging, this program usually stores user contacts, meetings, tasks and journals. The loss of this data may affect your business, so, you may need to perform some actions that can ensure the integrity of your personal information.

We suggest trying Recovery Toolbox for Outlook; this program represents an intelligent solution, that permits to avoid losses. Recovery Toolbox for Outlook can repair all items, stored in Microsoft Outlook, in several easy steps, just follow the instructions and all emails will be successfully repaired. It does not matter, what was the reason that led to mailbox corruption, there are a lot of them.

Your mailbox may be affected due to power failures, file system corruptions, viruses or hacker attacks. Recovery Toolbox for Outlook repairs your email regardless of its corruption. It is very easy, you can save a lot of time for preventive measures, Recovery Toolbox for Outlook will never replace your firewall or antivirus client, but this program will be a good addition to other programs, that helps, when other ways of pst recovery and repair Outlook are useless. Please download free demo version of Recovery Toolbox for Outlook Outlook repair tool for pst repair now and make sure, that it helps. For your convenience, Recovery Toolbox for Outlook pst repair tool can save retrieved files as separate emails or as a single file of PST format. Feel free to ask questions about repair pst file, our support department will be glad to respond all requests with regard to Microsoft Outlook repair and Outlook pst repair in a reasonable time.

Outlook 2003 Product Description

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

From the Manufacturer
Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 provides an integrated solution for managing e-mail, schedules, tasks, notes, and more. Key enhancements include the new cached mode, automatic grouping of messages, junk e-mail handling, and improved reading views.

Features:

  • Manage and prioritize communications: Flag messages by priority or time sensitivity. Use the new navigation pane to access your contacts, calendar, tasks, folders, and more.
  • Put Outlook 2003 to work for you: Improved junk e-mail filters help protect you from unwanted e-mail. Enhanced rules and alerts help you stay organized and on schedule.
  • Print less, read more: the improved reading pane displays twice as much content, making reading more comfortable and reducing scrolling when you read long messages online.
  • Save time and find messages faster: Group messages by date, size, conversation, subject, importance, and more. Save the results of commonly used e-mail searches as search folders.



Product Description
Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 provides an integrated solution for managing and organizing e-mail messages, schedules, tasks, notes, contacts, and other information. Organize information better to save time and increase productivity! Powerful Junk E-Mail Filter Cached Exchange Mode downloads Outlook data to your computer so you can remain productive during network downtime (requires Exchange Server 2003) Research task pane brings up dictionaries, thesauruses & online research sites Handwriting support with optional Tablet PC

How to Install a new font on your computer

Friday, July 25, 2008

Installing fonts in Microsoft Windows® is quick and simple. Once fonts are installed in Windows, they are available to your Office programs.
Many font packages you download from the Internet may be contained in compressed .zip files to reduce file size and make downloading faster. If you have downloaded a font that is saved in .zip format, you can "unzip" it by double-clicking the icon for the font and following the instructions on the screen.
Installing new fonts
1. Close any open Windows applications, such as Microsoft Word or Microsoft Outlook ®.
2. In Control Panel, click Appearance and Themes.
Note If you are using Control Panel Classic view or Microsoft Windows 2000, double-click Fonts, and then go to step 4.
3. In the task pane, under See Also, click Fonts.
Note If a folder tree appears instead of the task pane, click Folders on the toolbar, and then under See Also, click Fonts.
4. On the File menu, click Install New Font.
5. In the Drives list, click the drive you want.
6. In the Folders list, double-click the folder that contains the fonts you want to add.
7. Under List of fonts, click the font you want to add, and then click OK.
Notes
• To select more than one font to add, in step 6, hold down the CTRL key, and then click each of the fonts you want to add.
• You can also drag OpenType, TrueType, Type 1, and raster fonts from another location to add them to the Fonts folder. This works only if the font is not already in the Fonts folder.
• To add fonts from a network drive without using disk space on your computer, clear the Copy fonts to Fonts folder check box in the Add Fonts dialog box. This is available only when you install OpenType, TrueType, or raster fonts using the Install New Font option on the File menu.

How to Change your default browser

Monday, July 7, 2008

Microsoft Windows uses the default Web browser setting when you click links in a document or on a Web page. Windows uses Microsoft Internet Explorer by default, but you can change to a different browser if you want to, I will discuss here how to do it and provided Outlook Support for solving Your Outlook Problem.
To change from Internet Explorer to another browser, do one of the following:
• If you haven't installed another browser, do that first. During installation, most browsers display a message asking if you want to use that browser as the default browser.
• If the browser that you want to use is already installed, open it. You should see a message asking if you want to use that browser as the default browser. If you don't see the message, use the following instructions, but choose the browser that you want to use instead of Internet Explorer.
To make Internet Explorer your default Web browser
1. Open Internet Explorer. (Click Start, and then click Internet Explorer. If you don't see Internet Explorer on the Start menu, point to All Programs, and then click Internet Explorer.)
o If a message appears asking if you want Internet Explorer to be your default browser, click Yes.
o If a message does not appear, go to Step 2.
2. On the taskbar, click Start, and then click Set Program Access and Defaults.
Note The Set Program Access and Defaults option is available only in Microsoft Windows XP with Service Pack 1 or Microsoft Windows XP with Service Pack 2.
3. In the Add or Remove Programs dialog box, click Custom, and then click the arrow to the right.
4. Under Choose a default Web browser, click Internet Explorer, and then click OK.
Tip If you have more than one Web browser installed, you can hide links to those browsers from the Start menu, the Windows taskbar, and your desktop by clearing the Enable access to this program check box.

How to delete cookies

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Hi, I am continuing with Outlook Support and Email Support. It Help to delete Cookies from Outlook and Email.
Cookies are small text files that Web sites put on your computer to store a variety of information about you or your preferences. Some Web sites store your user name and password or other personally identifiable information about you in a cookie. If you delete a cookie, you might need to enter this information again the next time you visit the Web site.
If you know the name of the Web site whose cookies you want to delete, you can delete the individual files. Otherwise, you can delete all cookies.
To delete a specific cookie
1. In Microsoft Internet Explorer, on the Tools menu, click Internet Options.
2. On the General tab, under Temporary Internet files, click Settings, and then click View Files.
3. Select the files (cookies) that you want to delete.
4. On the File menu, click Delete.
To delete all cookies
1. In Internet Explorer, on the Tools menu, click Internet Options.
2. On the General tab, click Delete Cookies.

Troubleshoot opening files

Wednesday, April 2, 2008

The file you are trying to open may be damaged. Your Microsoft Office program may let you try to recover the text from the damaged file, or if recovery doesn't work, you can delete the damaged file and open a backup copy.

  1. If the Microsoft Office program you are using is not responding, recover the program.
    1. On the Microsoft Windows Start menu, point to Programs, point to Microsoft Office Tools, and then click Microsoft Office Application Recovery.
    2. In the Application list, click the program or document that is not responding.
    3. Do one of the following:
      • To attempt to recover the files you were working on, click Recover Application or Restart Application.
      • If you just want to close the program, and lose recent changes to the files, click End Application.
    4. The error that caused the problem can be reported to Microsoft for use in improving future versions of the program. Click Send Error Report or Don't Send.

Note If you are not connected to the internet you can click Send Error Report Later to be prompted to send the report the next time you connect.

  1. Open the Office program.
  2. Review the files listed in the Document Recovery task pane (task pane: A window within an Office application that provides commonly used commands. Its location and small size allow you to use these commands while still working on your files.), and decide which to keep.

o If a file has [Recovered] in the title it is usually a file that contains more recent changes than a file with [Original] in the title.

    • If you want to view what repairs were made to a file, point to the file in the Document Recovery task pane, click the arrow next to the file's name, and then click Show Repairs.
    • If you want to review the versions that were recovered, open all of the versions and save the best one.
  1. For each file you want to keep, point to the file in the Document Recovery task pane, click the arrow next to the file's name, and then do one of the following:
    • To work with the file, click Open.
    • To save the file, click Save As, and then enter a name for the file. By default, the file is saved in the same folder as the original file. If you use the same name as the original file, the original is overwritten. When you see a message asking whether you want to replace the existing file (with the changes you made up to the last time you saved the file), click Yes.
  2. When you have opened or saved all of the files you want to keep, click Close in the Document Recovery task pane.

The file name may be too long

The file name or the path name may exceed 223 characters. Do one of the following:

· Shorten the file name.

· Move the file to another folder that is closer to the top of the folder hierarchy.

Try to open the file again.

The disk the file is on may be too full

Try moving files to another disk to make more space available.

The Open dialog box doesn't list the file I'm looking for.

Check the file type

Make sure you have the correct file type selected in the Files of type box.

Conduct a search

In the Open dialog box, click Tools, and then click Search. Select the options you want, and then click Search.

Check the network connection

If you're looking for a file on the network and the network drive doesn't appear in the Open dialog box under Look in, do the following:

1. Click Tools, and then click Map Network Drive.

2. In the Drive box, click the drive letter you want to use to connect to the network.

3. In the Folder box, enter the path where the file is located on the network— for example, type \\server\share.

You can also look for files on a network drive if your network supports the UNC (universal naming convention (UNC): A naming convention for files that provides a machine-independent means of locating the file. Rather than specifying a drive letter and path, a UNC name uses the syntax \\server\share\path\filename.). Just type the UNC path in the File name box in the Open dialog box— for example, type \\plans\documents.

Look in My Network Places

If you're looking for files on a Web server (Web server: A computer that hosts Web pages and responds to requests from browsers. Also known as an HTTP server, a Web server stores files whose URLs begin with http://.):

· In the Open dialog box, click My Network Places on the My Places bar (Places bar: The bar on the left side of certain dialog boxes (such as Open, Save As, or Insert Picture) that contains shortcuts to the My Recent Documents, Desktop, My Documents, My Computer, and My Network Places folders.) to display folders on the Web server. Double-click the folders until you open the folder that contains the document you want.

You can also type the folder path in the File name box in the Open dialog box— for example, type http://myserver/public.

I can't open a password protected file.

Passwords (password: A sequence of characters needed to access computer systems, files, and Internet services. Strong passwords combine uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols.) are case-sensitive. Check to see whether the CAPS LOCK key is on, or retype the password to make sure that you didn't mistype it.

My file opened in a separate window.

When you create or open a file in a Microsoft Office program, the file opens in a separate window. You can quickly switch from one file to another by clicking the file's button on the taskbar or by pressing ALT+TAB.

The shortcut to my file doesn't work anymore.

The file may have been renamed or deleted

The shortcut will not work if there has been any change to the target file's name or extension. Use the Microsoft Office Search feature to look for files that have similar names or that were created or modified on the same date as the file you are trying to open.

Conduct a search

In the Open dialog box, click Tools, and then click Search. Select the options you want, and then click Search.

The file may be temporarily unavailable
  • If the file is located on a network server, consult your network administrator to find out if the server drive is unavailable.
  • If the file is located on removable media such as a floppy disk, make sure the media with the target file is properly inserted in the drive or device.

source office.microsoft.com

Automatically reply to incoming messages

Tuesday, March 25, 2008

This feature requires you to use a Microsoft Exchange Server e-mail account. Most personal e-mail accounts through an Internet service provider (ISP) (ISP: A business that provides access to the Internet for such things as electronic mail, chat rooms, or use of the World Wide Web. Some ISPs are multinational, offering access in many locations, while others are limited to a specific region.) are POP3 accounts and do not support this feature.

  1. In Mail, on the Tools menu, click Out of Office Assistant.

I don't see the Out of Office Assistant command

The Out of Office Assistant command does not appear unless you are using an Exchange Server e-mail account and you are in the Mail view.

  1. Click I am currently Out of the Office.
  2. In the AutoReply only once to each sender with the following text box, type the message that you want to send to others while you are out.
  3. If you want, create rule to manage your incoming mail.

Steps

    1. On the Tools menu, click Out of Office Assistant.

Note The Out of Office Assistant command does not appear unless you are using an Exchange Server e-mail account.

    1. Click Add Rule.
    2. Under When a message arrives that meets the following conditions, specify the conditions of the rule that the message must meet for the action to occur.
    3. To specify more conditions, click Advanced, select the options that you want, and then click OK.
    4. To specify that this rule must be the last one applied, select the Do not process subsequent rules check box.
    5. Under Perform these actions, select the options that you want. You can select more than one option.

Note If you specify that a message must be deleted, rules that follow the delete rule in the list of rules in the Out of Office Assistant dialog box do not affect the message.